NESA National Outstanding Eagle Scout Award

Honoring Eagle Scouts at the local, state or region Level


The NESA Outstanding Eagle Scout Award (NOESA) was established during the BSA’s 100th Anniversary in 2010 with the first recipient to receive the award a year later. The award was created to recognize notable Eagle Scouts who had either performed distinguished service at the local, state, or regional level or who were known nationally, but had not yet met the 25-year tenure as an Eagle for the Distinguished Eagle Scout Award. Often, worthy candidates for the NOESA have inspired others through their actions and have devoted a lifetime to their profession, avocation, community, and beliefs, at great sacrifice to themselves and their families.

The NOESA has gained prominent standing among Scouting recognitions. Previous recipients include famous authors, explorers, television personalities, military flag officers, scientists, government officials, and prominent businessmen.

The selection of recipients is made by the local council NESA committee (which may utilize a NESA awards sub-committee), Scout executive, and council president. Each recipient’s actions and accomplishments should elevate the stature of Eagle Scouts in the public eye. Therefore, not all nominations are acted upon, and a substantial percentage of nominations are declined.
How to get the award:
  • The nominee must be an Eagle Scout in good standing with the Boy Scouts of America and must either be registered with or have their primary residence within the boundaries of the nominating council.
  • No length of time is required to have passed since earning the Eagle Rank.
  • The council should retain the actions and accomplishments that led the nominee to be considered for the award, although it is not required to include with the nomination form submitted to the National Eagle Scout Association.
  • Nominations must be sent to the National Eagle Scout Association by the council (an individual may not submit the form) for consideration. Those selected will be added to the list of NESA Outstanding Eagle Scouts, quarterly.
  • Applications are due January 31st. The nomination must be submitted to the NESA President, VHC Chapter.


Verdugo Hills Council
National Eagle Scout Award Recipients


Paul R. Chiaravalle – 2019

Joseph F. Wilke Jr. – 2019

Paul McKenna, Jr. – 2017

David Geisen – 2016

Ronald Sowers – 2016

Lynn Mcginnis – 2015

Gary Swaner – 2015

Jeffrey Barth – 2014

William Flinders – 2014

James Roope – 2013

David Potter – 2012



File Name Description
NESA NOESA application form, 2022 Download